NASCAR Round of 12 – Dover Preview By Sir Holden Asworth


NASCAR Round of 12 – Dover Preview


by Sir Holden Asworth


We’re fully entrenched now. We’ve seen the wildness of the first round – new tracks, new strategies, new winners, new losers. The Round of 12 somewhat resets that. Those with playoff points get to keep them, and everyone else is evened out at square one. This time, drivers will battle it out on the concrete oval known as the Monster Mile. A fast track with a different feel than her asphalt brethren, Dover presents many of her own challenges.

Drivers who win in this round will automatically advance to the Round of 8 later on in the month. Others can point their way in, but it leads to more of a gamble since they’re battling the 5 (at minimum) who won’t win, plus the non-playoff contending field.

Who To Watch:

Image result for havrick bush truex gif

The Big Four – Like always, you can’t sleep on these guys. Harvick, Busch and Truex have all won here. In fact, all three have won this race in succession since 2015. Harvick dominated here in the spring, so he’ll be the one to watch for sure (he also had a lackluster first round and will likely want to bounce back).

Image result for jimmie johnson nascar gif

Jimmie Johnson – he was eliminated last week, but he’s the most successful driver at this track in history.

Image result for nascar chevrolet gif

Chevrolet – We don’t have many Chevys in the top 12, but the ones who are here can make statements very quickly. Keep an eye out for Kyle Larson, he does well on these slick-surfaced tracks.

Pos. Car Driver Sponsor/Make
1 18 Kyle Busch (P) Interstate Batteries Toyota
2 4 Kevin Harvick (P) Busch Outdoors Ford
3 78 Martin Truex Jr. (P) 5-hour ENERGY/Bass Pro Shops Toyota
4 2 Brad Keselowski (P) Wurth Ford
5 14 Clint Bowyer (P) Haas VF1/Rush Truck Centers Ford
6 22 Joey Logano (P) Shell Pennzoil Ford
7 41 Kurt Busch (P) Monster Energy/Haas Automation Ford
8 12 Ryan Blaney (P) PPG Ford
9 9 Chase Elliott (P) NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet
10 42 Kyle Larson (P) Credit One Bank Chevrolet
11 10 Aric Almirola (P) Smithfield Ford
12 88 Alex Bowman (P) Axalta Chevrolet
13 48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe’s for Pros Chevrolet
14 3 Austin Dillon AAA Chevrolet
15 11 Denny Hamlin FedEx Express Toyota
16 20 Erik Jones Craftsman Toyota
17 31 Ryan Newman Waste Masters Solutions Chevrolet
18 21 Paul Menard Menards/Tarkett Ford
19 19 Daniel Suarez ARRIS Toyota
20 1 Jamie McMurray GEARWRENCH Chevrolet
21 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Fastenal Ford
22 24 William Byron # Hendrick Autoguard Chevrolet
23 37 Chris Buescher Scott Products Chevrolet
24 47 AJ Allmendinger Kroger ClickList Chevrolet
25 95 Regan Smith Dumont JETS Chevrolet
26 38 David Ragan MDS Transport Ford
27 34 Michael McDowell Love’s Travel Stops Ford
28 6 Matt Kenseth Wyndham Rewards Ford
29 43 Bubba Wallace # World Wide Technology Chevrolet
30 13 Ty Dillon GEICO Chevrolet
31 32 Matt DiBenedetto Can-Am/Wholey Ford
32 15 Ross Chastain Use Your Melon Drive Sober Chevrolet
33 72 Corey LaJoie Factor One Source Chevrolet
34 00 Landon Cassill StarCom Fiber Chevrolet
35 23 JJ Yeley  Toyota
36 51 BJ McLeod Jacob Companies Ford
37 96 Jeffrey Earnhardt Xtreme Concepts/iK9 Toyota
38 66 Timmy Hill Ternio Toyota
39 52 Harrison Rhodes The Medicine Shoppe Chevrolet

When to Watch:

Sunday at 2pm ET on NBCSN

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook and pit into our message boards.